General Information

County Seat: Double Springs
as Hancock County on 1850 Feb 12 from land in Walker County
Named for:
Gov. John Hancock of Massachusetts On January 22, 1858, the name was changed to honor Alabama Gov. John A Winston
Neighboring Counties:
Marion, Franklin, Lawrence, Morgan, Cullman, Walker, and Fayette Counties

Winston County Revenue Commissioner
The Revenue Commissioner is responsible for the assessment of personal and real property and for the collection of taxes levied by the State of Alabama.

Winston County Revenue Commissioner
Double Springs, AL 35553
Fax 205-489-8926

Court Records

Winston County Records were lost in the 1891 courthouse fire.

Winston County Courthouse
P.O. Box 27
Double Springs, AL 35553
(205) 489-5219

Winston County Clerk of Probate
P.O. Box 309
Double Springs, AL 35553-0309
(205) 489-5219

Winston County Probate Office
Main Street
Double Springs, AL 35553
(205) 489-5219

Winston County Circuit Court Clerk
195 Main Street
Courthouse Square
Double Springs, AL 35553
(205) 489-5533

Genealogy Records

Criminal Records

Winston County Jail / Sheriffs Office
PO Box 10
11 Blake Drive
Double Springs, AL 35553
(205) 489-5205
Fax (205) 489-3090
Jail and Inmate Records
Winston County Registered Sex Offenders
Deadbeat Parents - Parents Wanted for Non-Support
Weekly Arrest Reports 2005-2007

Addison Police Department
PO Box 98
Addison, AL 35540

Arley Police Department
PO Box 146
Arley, AL 35541

Double Springs Police Department
21 Main Street
Double Springs, AL 35553

Haleyville Police Department
1901 11th Avenue
Haleyville, AL 35565

Lynn Police Department
PO Box 145
Lynn, AL 35575

Winston County Demographics

Winston County Profile - US Census Bureau

Source of county historical information:

 History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography by Owen, Thomas McAdory Chicago:  S J Clarke Publishing Co, 1921