General Information

County Seat: Chatom
June 4,1800  as a county of the Mississippi Territory (Washington County was later divided into 16 Mississippi Counties and 29 Alabama Counties)
Named for:
George Washington
Neighboring Counties:
Choctaw, Clarke, and Mobile Counties, Alabama, George and Wayne Counties, Mississippi

Washington County Government Directory
Washington County Directory

Washington County Revenue Commissioner
The Revenue Commissioner is responsible for the assessment of personal and real property and for the collection of taxes levied by the State of Alabama.

Washington County Revenue Commissioner
PO Box 847
Chatom, Al. 36518
(251) 847-2780

Court Records

Washington County Courthouse
P.O. Box 549
Chatom, AL 36518-0146
(334) 847-2208

Washington County Probate Office
Courthouse Square
Chatom, AL 36518
(251) 847-2201

Washington County Clerk of Probate
P.O. Box 549
Chatom, AL 36518
(251) 847-2201

Washington County Circuit Court Clerk
1 Court St.
Chatom, AL 36518
(251) 847-2239

Genealogy Records

Criminal Records

Washington County Sheriffs Office
PO Box 307
Chatom, Alabama 36518
(251) 847-2202
Washington County Registered Sex Offenders

Washington County Jail
403 Court Street
Chatom, AL 36518
(251) 847-2202
Fax (251) 847-6677

Chatom Police Department
PO Box 817
Chatom, AL 36518

McIntosh Police Department
PO Box 385
McIntosh, AL 36553

Millry Police Department
PO Box 563
Millry, AL 36558

Washington County Demographics

Washington County Profile - US Census Bureau

Source of county historical information:

 History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography by Owen, Thomas McAdory Chicago:  S J Clarke Publishing Co, 1921