General Information

County Seat: Monroeville
June 29, 1815 from all the Creek Indian lands ceded by the Treaty of Fort Jackson
Named for:
James Monroe
Neighboring Counties:
Clarke, Wilcox, Butler, Conecuh, Escambia, and Baldwin Counties

Monroe County Revenue Commissioner
The Revenue Commissioner is responsible for the assessment of personal and real property and for the collection of taxes levied by the State of Alabama.

Monroe County Revenue Commissioner
Courthouse Square
Monroeville, AL 36460
(251) 743-4107
Fax (251) 575-7934

Court Records

Monroe County Records were lost in the 1833 courthouse fire.

Monroe County Courthouse
P.O. Box 665
Monroeville, AL 36461-0665
(334) 743-3782

Monroe County Clerk of Probate
P.O. Box 8
Monroeville, AL 35461-0008
(251) 575-3778

Monroe County Circuit Court Clerk
Courthouse Square
Monroeville, AL 36461
(251) 743-2283

Genealogy Records

Criminal Records

Monroe County Jail
160 Wilcox Street
Monroeville, AL 36460
(251) 743-2502
Fax (251) 575-5985

Monroe County Sheriffs Office
65 N Alabama Ave Rm 136
Monroe County Courthouse
Monroeville, Alabama 36460
(251) 575-2963
Monroe County Registered Sex Offenders

Excel Police Department
PO Box 369
Excel, AL 36439

Frisco City Police Department
PO Box 119
Frisco City, AL 36445

Monroeville Police Department
57 South Mt. Pleasant Avenue
Monroeville, AL 36460

Monroe County Demographics

Monroe County Profile - US Census Bureau

Source of county historical information:

 History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography by Owen, Thomas McAdory Chicago:  S J Clarke Publishing Co, 1921