General Information

County Seat: Russellville
Created: Feb 6, 1818
Named for: Benjamin Franklin
Neighboring Counties: Colbert, Lawrence, Winston, and Marion Counties, Alabama, Tishomingo and Itawamba Counties, Mississippi

Franklin County Revenue Commissioner
The Revenue Commissioner is responsible for the assessment of personal and real property and for the collection of taxes levied by the State of Alabama.

Franklin County Tax Assessor
PO Box 417
Russellville, AL 35653

Court Records

Franklin County Records were lost in the 1890 courthouse fire.

Franklin County Courthouse
P.O. Box 70
Russellville, AL 35653

Franklin County Clerk of Probate
P.O. Box 1438
Russellville, AL 35653
(256) 332-8801

Franklin County Probate Office
Russellville, AL 35653
(256) 332-8805

Franklin County Circuit Court Clerk
410 North Jackson Ave.
Russellville, AL 35653
(256) 332-8861

Genealogy Records

Criminal Records

Franklin County Sheriffs Office
Post Office Box 400
Russellville, AL 35653
(256) 332-8811
Franklin County Registered Sex Offenders

Franklin County Jail
111 Limestone
Russellville, AL 35653
(256) 332-8820

Phil Campbell Police Department
PO Box 489
Phil Campbell, AL 35581

Red Bay Police Department
PO Box 2002
Red Bay, AL 35582

Russellville Police Department
PO Box 1000
Russellville, AL 35653

Franklin County Demographics

Franklin County Profile - US Census Bureau

Source of county historical information:

 History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography by Owen, Thomas McAdory Chicago:  S J Clarke Publishing Co, 1921