Chilton County

General Information

County Seat: Clanton
Created: Dec 30, 1868 from Autauga, Bibb, and Perry Counties
Named for: Originally named Baker County, the name was changed in 1874 to honor Judge William Parish Chilton
Neighboring Counties: Shelby, Bibb, Perry, Dallas, Autauga, Elmore, and Coosa Counties

Chilton County Public Records

Chilton County Revenue Commissioner
The Revenue Commissioner is responsible for the assessment of personal and real property and for the collection of taxes levied by the State of Alabama.

Chilton County Tax Assessor
Clanton, AL 35045
Fax (205) 280-7219

Chilton County Court Records

Chilton County Probate Office
County Courthouse
Clanton, AL 35046

Chilton County Records were lost in the 1870 courthouse fire.

Chilton County Courthouse
P.O. Box 270
Clanton, AL 35046
(205) 755-1555

Chilton County Clerk of Probate
P.O. Box 557
Clanton, AL 35045-0057
(205) 755-1555

Chilton County Circuit Court Clerk
501 2nd Avenue N.
Clanton, AL 35045
(205) 755-4275

Genealogy Records

Criminal Records

Chilton County Jail
500 2nd Avenue North
Clanton, AL 35045

Chilton County Sheriff's Dept.
500 2nd Avenue North
Clanton, AL 35045
(205) 755-4698
Chilton County Registered Sex Offenders

Clanton Police Department
Post Office Box 580
Clanton, AL 35046

Jemison Police Department
Post Office Box 609
Jemison, AL 35085

Maplesville Police Department
Post Office Box 09
Maplesville, AL 36750

Thorsby Police Department
Post Office Box 608
Thorsby, AL 35171

Chilton County Demographics

Chilton County Profile - US Census Bureau

Source of county historical information:

 History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography by Owen, Thomas McAdory Chicago:  S J Clarke Publishing Co, 1921